

Agenda Delta Omega Annual Business Meeting (Virtual) October 5, 2023 2:00- 4:00 PM ET

https://zoom.us/j/2022627360?pwd=c3VKTGwvdGVFQ0V5Yk43aUlVdG84QT09

I. Welcome, Approval of Minutes and Introductions Cindy Prins II. **Business Session** Allison Foster A. Secretary Report B. Treasurer Report Michael Thompson III. Speed round of break-out groups Cindy Prins IV. Awards committee report Mitch Rosen Student poster awards B. Curriculum award C. Chapter awards ٧. National planning discussion Cindy Prins VI. Chapter breakouts VII. 100-year anniversary committee report VIII. Other business and adjourn

Delta Omega Annual Meeting Draft Minutes November 7, 2022

Amy Lee- Alpha Chi
Elizabeth Claydon- Gamma Mu
Brit Saksvig- Gamma Eta
Christa Lilly- Gamma Mu
Colin Smith- Gamma Upsilon
Christi Navarro- Alpha Xi
Katherine Peterman- Delta Eta
Lisa Anderson- Delta Eta
Courtney Coughenour- Delta Theta
Max Gakh- Delta Theta

Elaine Archie- Bocka- Alpha Lambda
Haley Director- Omicron
Brittany Taylor- Delta Zeta
Kerlley Benabee- Eta
Ed Trepido- Eta
D'Shane Barnett- Beta Epsilon
Lynn Short- Delta Phi
Jaime Corvine - Tau
Cindy Prins- Beta Upsilon
Michael Thompson- Beta Phi
Jeanelle Sugimoto - Gamma

Cindy Prins welcomed the council members to the meeting at 2:30 PM. She gave a special welcome to representatives of the newest chapter, Epsilon Nu at Syracuse University and asked for approval of the agenda.

Allison provided an update on the number of chapters and members as of September 30. So far, there had been 1,680 inductions. There were currently 127 chapter and 29,071 members. She announced that two enhancements that had been discussed at the previous years annual meeting had since been added: 1) Members could now purchase indvidual stoles and pins directly from the main Delta Omega website and 2) Inductees could pay their own membership dues by credit card. Next year, the national office would build out a way for the chapters to see if their members had imdividually paid their dues or not.

Allison asked the chapters to enter a personal email address in the induction request form, not a university email address. The email addresses are used to send a URL for digital certificates and because many university email addresses are not used or available after graduation, a personal email address is preferable.

Cindy then gave the treasurers report. She reviewed the FY22 actual activity, noting that revenue was slightly higher than budgeted due to sales of stoles. Expenses also higher than budgeted, mostly due to the purchase of an inventory of stoles.

She then reviewed the FY23 proposed budget, which predicted the same volume of inductions as in the past year. The budgeted expenses were higher than in the previous year because the annual meeting in 2022 would be in person as opposed to virtual over the past several years. The budget anticipated a \$20,000 surplus for the

year. She also mentioned that Delta Omega's 100-year anniversary would be in 2024 and one goal was to build up reserves so that a celebration could be held at the fall meeting in 2024. The members of the council attending the meeting voted to approve the budget as presented.

Election of officers

Because Cindy had rotated into the chair position, elections then took place for the position Chair-elect. Michael Thompson was the only nominee and was elected by ballot.

Elections also took place for at-large positions for which there were three nominees: Mitch Rosen, Jeanelle Sugimoto and Alex Reibstein. After the ballot votes by were tallied and it was found two of the nominees were tied, it was decided to elect all three nominees to the national council for a two-year term.

Delta Omega Oath and Induction Ceremony Template

The chapter representatives review a draft ceremony template and induction oath that had been created by a subcommittee earlier in the year. They agreed the template was useful and also that while the template could be modified as needed, the oath should not be changed. The chapters voted to adopt the induction ceremony template and oath.

Chapter of the Year Award

Elizabeth Clayborn of the Gamma Mu chapter gave a presentation as chapter of the year award and was given a plaque of recognition.

The group tables were invited to discuss best practices on how to recognize non-faculty staff in lieu of membership.

Strategic Planning

USF faculty Jaime Corvin shared her findings from reviewing previous work done on the Delta Omega strategic plan. She asked the meeting attendees to join one of three groups, which relate to our three out of four goals.

- Chapter Engagement
- New Chapters
- Members Engagement

After the groups had met, chapters representatives were invited to join the following subcommittees which would meet during the year:

- Chapter Engagement
- New Chapter development
- Individual member engagement
- Awards

Delta Omega Awards

Michael shared that this was the 21st year of the innovative curricula award and as always, the national council was very pleased with the nominations. As was done last year, the high scoring nominees and winners will be invited to present on webinars in the spring.

He announced that this year, the runner's up were: Timothy Lash from Emory University "Capstone for MPH Students in Epidemiology or Global Epidemiology" and Jennifer Taylor from Drexel University "The Fire Service Injury Research, Epidemiology, & Evaluation (FIRE) Fellowship"

He then invited Elizabeth Claydon from West Virginia University to present the winning curricula "Social and Behavioral Sciences 616: Introduction to Public Health Intervention for Social and Behavioral Scientists"

Michael then made the official announcement about the honorary member for 2022. He reminded the chapter members that honorary membership is conferred upon persons possessing exceptional qualifications, who have attained meritorious national or international distinction in the field of public health. Recently Delta Omega had inducted Dr. Mona Hanna-Attisha, who was a key figure in identifying the water crisis in Flint, MI; Shannon Watts, who is leading a social movement to reduce gun violence; and Peter Buxton, who was responsible for identifying human rights violations in the Tuskegee experiments. He then announced that Dr. Anthony Fauci had been inducted as our 2022 honorary member for his lifetime of achievements in HIV, arthritis and immunology but also for his leadership with COVID19.

The student poster session winners were invited to receive their awards and take group photo. Everyone was invited to attend the post-meeting reception.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:00 PM.